Tags

, , , , , ,

I Never Knew You… Or Maybe I Did – The Films of Nora Ephron

by DarkJade

Last Week, June 26th, was a Truly Sad Day for me… As one of the Greatest Screenplay Writers of our Time Passed away… Nora Ephron.

 

Nora Ephron (May 19, 1941 – June 26, 2012) was an American journalist, essayist, playwright, screenwriter, novelist, producer, director, and blogger.

Ephron is best known for her romantic comedies and was nominated three times for the Academy Award for Best Writing (Original Screenplay): for Silkwood, When Harry Met Sally… and Sleepless in Seattle. She won a BAFTA Award for Best Original Screenplay for When Harry Met Sally…. She sometimes wrote with her sister Delia Ephron.[1] Her last film was Julie & Julia.[1] She also co-authored the Drama Desk Award-winning theatrical production Love, Loss, and What I Wore.[1][2]

Nora Ephron – Wikipedia

When Harry Met Sally – 1989

For me My Journey with Nora Ephron began with “When Harry Met Sally”…

Which is to me, what every Romantic Comedy Screenplay Writer should shoot for…

When I pursued Screenplay Writing from 2002-2005, I never tried to Write a Romantic Comedy… But when I thought about the kind of Quality of Content, and Word-Craft I wanted in my Screenplays, “When Harry Met Sally” was definitely one of the Screenplays on the back of my mind.

Brilliant… Human… Wise… Romantic… Honest… Endearing… And the list goes on and on.

To say this Film was Influential on Me as a Film Maker, and a Screenplay Writer, is to be putting it Mildly. It’s Pretty Much an Epic Film.

Sleepless In Seattle – 1993

Now this one, Nora both Wrote, and Directed… Any True Romantic has to agree with me that “Sleepless In Seattle” is just about as Romantic as a Film Can Be.

There are a hand full of Romantic Movies that I tend to watch over and over again when I’m in between Romantic Relationships… And This one, is at the Top of the List

Damn I even Teared up seeing if that Clip Worked, Lol

Ok, so maybe I’m a bit of a softy, but none the less, the Writing, Directing, Acting, Music… It all just works in this Film.

You’ve Got Mail – 1998

Hilarious, and Brilliant… This Film also makes My List of Films to watch when a “Movie’s” all you’ve got going in the Romance Department, Lol

It looks like Meg Ryan Played a pretty big Role in the Ephron Films that got to me… But Billy Crystal and Tom Hanks were Really, Truly, Remarkable in these Films.

To Write a Romantic Comedy is an Art Form… And that’s a Fact

So is Writing a Good Screenplay, or Directing a Good Film.

But to be able to Tap Into a Human’s Heart, Tell Them a Story, And Make it a Part of that Person for the Rest of Their Life… Well, that my friends, is a Gift…

A Gift That Nora Has Given Us, that Shall Stay with us until the End of Our Days…

And for that, I am Truly Grateful.

Rest In Peace Nora Ephron… You will Forever Be Missed.

Thanks For Reading/Watching/Listening

DarkJade-

