Tags

, , , , , ,

Oh, Canada; my home and native land.  There are times when I loathe it and times when I wouldn’t want to live anywhere else.  These times are usually influenced by the weather, aka how much snow we get in winter and how long it stays for.  I know, that’s so typically Canadian, but we get some pretty bad winters here in Saskatchewan.  I guess some of the beautiful scenery makes up for it.

That’s the view from my house in spring.  The trees are so green, the sky is a beautiful blue, the dandelions are growing to worsen my allergies and the farmer that rents our field hasn’t got his crops up yet.  Our little boat, the Sherry Sue sits in the corner of this photo, like it always does until my father finds time to take the family fishing.  Finding time to fish in the summer is hard for a beekeeper because summer is the only time we aren’t busy.  But fall and winter are different stories.

Before school started a few falls ago, we travelled up to the Yukon (way up north by Alaska) to visit my dad’s brother.  It was just my dad and I, so we had a great time travelling through the huge mountains of British Columbia up to the beautiful scenery of the north.  People are often under the impression that it snows constantly here in Canada, especially up north, but that is very untrue.  This picture was taken just after we entered British Columbia.

This was the first sunrise picture I had ever taken.  I got up at nearly five in the morning to take a picture of the sunrise outside the cabin.  This was taken at the cabin up in the Yukon in an isolated area.  We had to use ATVs to reach it after crossing a river because it was so remote.  Oh well, the fishing was excellent.

Finally, to prove that Canada is not some desolate, cold wasteland, here is a picture of a sunset outside my window.  We really do have some beautiful scenery; it’s not all snow and ice here.  But to survive up here in Canada, you have to have a bit of a sense of humour to deal with things like this:

This is the exact same spot from where I took the picture above.  Our sunsets are nice and we have decent enough summers, but you have to take the good with the bad.  Although, it hasn’t been a bad winter this year.  We only have about 3-4 inches of snow, unlike the usual amount, which can vary from 6-12 inches.  It’s been a warm winter, if you can believe it!

