Tags

, , ,

DarkJade’s Films of Meaning – Shawshank Redemption

by DarkJade

“Don’t Judge A Film By Its Name…”

Words to live by, as I didn’t see this Film when it was in Theaters, largely due to its Title.

What I didn’t know was, The Shawshank Redemption would end up being my 3rd Favorite Film of All Time.

That’s right, it sits right under the Original “Star Wars“, and “The Empire Strikes Back“…

I know what you’re thinking, “Wait a minute, this guys been doing Reviews for Movies/Films like “Amistad“, “The Aviator” and now “Shawshank Redemption“, and Star Wars is his Favorite Film???

But you should keep in mind, I was a Little Kid when The Original Star Wars Film came out, and man, it changed the whole Film Industry…

Followed up in 1980 by one of the Best Sequels of all time, The Empire Strikes back…

In fact, Star Wars and The Empire Strikes Back are the main Reasons that I pursued Film Making back in 2000-2003…

But I’m not here to talk about Star Wars…


I’m here to talk about Shawshank Redemption

Let me start by saying, if you haven’t seen this Film, you’re doing yourself a Serious Injustice…

And let me tell you why…

Friendship;

Talk about a “Human” Film… The Friendship between Convicted Wife Killer, Andy Durfresne (Played Exceptionally Well by Tim Robins), and long time inmate Ellis Boyd Redding (Morgan Freeman, who got an Oscar for this Role by the way)… Or, “Red”, as he goes byIs something any, and all of us hunger for in our life.

Basically this Film encapsulates all that you would ever want, or hope for in a Friendship…

Take a moment and think about how important something like a “Good Friend” is to youSomeone you can Rely on… Someone you can Confide in… Someone you come to Love, and Trust… That person you might call first when your Heart has been Dashed to the Wind… Or might just go Fishing with, on a Warm Summers Day…

I can think of no better Friendship in a Film… That alone, makes this Film worth seeing.

Moving on…

Story;

The Story is Based on a Story by none other than Steven King… Now I’m not a big Steven King Fan, he’s a bit too… Hmm.. Gross for me, lol However, there is no doubt in my mind, that the man is a Masterful/Genius when it comes to Writing, and more than that, a Master of Characters… Which, by the way, is my Absolute Most Important thing when Writing a Story (which is why I love the first two Star Wars Films).

Director/Screenplay Writer;

But it goes beyond Steven King… At the Helm of this Film is in my opinion one of the Best Screenplay Writers in the Industry, or at least he was at the time…

Frank Darabont… In fact, the Industry was so impressed with his Writing, that he became a Renowned “Script Doctor” if you will… Someone who looks at people’s Screenplays/Scripts, and makes suggestions to them how to improve it.

Morgan Freeman;

If Morgan Freeman is in a Movie, you have to see it… Right?

He was, without a Doubt… Well… Morgan Freeman, lol

But I will say that Tim Robin’s Performance is Highly Underated…

In fact, his portrayal of Andy Durfresnein in this Film is one of my Favorite All Time Characters…

Ever.

Here’s one of the Scenes in the Film that shows why… (Sadly you’ll have to watch it on YouTube, my Apologies)

And Last, but not least… This Film Demonstrates the Value of…

Freedom…

The Trailer;

Thanks for Reading/Listening

DarkJade-

